Teamwork

I never understood why Teamwork was one of the four core values of Push America. It just always seemed a bit out of place. For those who don’t know Push America’s four core values are Abilities, Empathy, Integrity, and Teamwork. Today I was feeling extremely sore and got 3 nosebleeds while riding. I could barely sleep last night and was feeling miserable. On top of all of that, I’ve been outside during hurricanes with lighter headwinds.

We passed over 4 Summits today, each around 7,500 ft high. I kept pushing and kept pushing but the thought of quitting came across my mind at least a dozen times. I was probably going 4mph when a Journey of Hope teammate, Jeff Watson from the University of Colorado- Boulder, came behind me and put his hand on my back and literally pushed me up the hill. I then realized that sometimes life gives you a million reasons to quit, but all it takes is one person pushing you to get you to where you need to go. Happily I made it to Ely, all 80 miles.

A common question I get on the road is- “What are the towns that you ride into like?” Today we’re in Ely, NV. A nice quaint town in the eastern side of Nevada. It happens to be home to one of the largest copper mines. Some areas look like they still have Dial-Up Internet and still connect to America Online 6.0. It’s really interesting to see the different dynamics of communities across the United States.

I don’t have any photos from the road today, so I figured I’d update my followers on my awesome tan line.

20130618-162928.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Sanjeev

Leave a Reply

